Our Curriculum

Curriculum and Qualifications

Walthamstow Academy has a powerful, intellectual and rigorous curriculum. Our curriculum is designed to provide all our students with the core knowledge thatwill become the foundation of their success in life. We aim to maximise their cognitive development, to develop the whole person and the talents of the individual so that Walthamstow Academy students become well-informed, active and economically self-sufficient citizens. At the end of Year 9, students make their Key Stage 4 qualification choices, meaning that from Year 10 they are studying subjects they are particularly passionate and excited about.

In Year 7 to Year 9 students study English, Maths, Science, Computing, French or Spanish, Music, Art, Drama, RE, Geography, History, Design Technology, Food Tech and PE. They study PSHE (Personal, Social and Health Education) and RSE (Relationships and Sex Education) during form time.

In Year 10 students begin their GCSE curriculum choices.

The subjects we offer at Key Stage 4 are:



GCSE English Language

GCSE English Literature

GCSE Mathematics

GCSE Combined Science


Core PE


GCSE Triple Science

GCSE French

GCSE Spanish

GCSE Geography

GCSE History

GCSE Computing

GCSE Drama


GCSE Media


GCSE Music

GCSE Product Design

GCSE Psychology

GCSE Business

GCSE Photography

GCSE Sociology

BTEC Business Studies

BTEC Sport

BTEC Health and Social Care

BTEC Media


The subjects we offer at Key Stage 5 are:

A Level English Literature

A Level Mathematics

A Level Biology

A Level Chemistry

A Level Physics

A Level French

A Level History

A Level Geography

A Level Government and Politics

A Level Art

A Level Media

A Level Performing Arts

A Level Psychology

A Level RE

A Level Sociology

A Level Economics

BTEC Business Studies

BTEC Sport

BTEC Health and Social Care

If you have any questions about our curriculum or would like to find out more, please contact Andrea Byrne, Vice Principal at andrea.byrne@walthamstow-academy.org